Sunday, January 23, 2022

15 YA Books Like Firekeeper’s Daughter | Book Riot

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


This content material accommodates affiliate hyperlinks. When you purchase by way of these hyperlinks, we could earn an affiliate fee.

Daunis Firekeeper isn’t somebody to be messed with. If you lately completed Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley then you already know this effectively. When Daunis witnesses the demise of somebody she loves, she is thrown head over heels right into a prime secret undercover investigation. People are dying in connection to the promoting of lethal batches of methamphetamine to Native children. Soon, she realizes she will belief nobody — not pals, not household — and that the rot of deception could attain horrifyingly deep into the roots of her neighborhood. If you could possibly not get sufficient of the novel, then I guess you’re searching for extra books like Firekeeper’s Daughter.

While there are not any novels that totally examine with Angeline Boulley’s debut, there are some notable younger grownup fiction books that share similarities. From Own Voices authors sharing the tales and traditions of their Native cultures, to themes of sacrifice, the seek for justice, and excessive stakes thriller, I’ve compiled an inventory of younger grownup books like Firekeeper’s Daughter.

(Please be aware: as with Firekeeper’s Daughter, many of those tales do embrace mentions of rape, suicide, and different intense content material. Proceed with warning.)

YA Books Like Firekeeper’s Daughter by Native and Indigenous Authors

A Snake Falls to Earth by Darcie Little Badger

To kick off this listing of books like Firekeeper’s Daughter, let’s begin with a brand new guide! Before Nina’s Lipan Apache great-grandmother Rosita passes away, she tells Nina of the animal folks. Year’s later, Nina can not cease serious about them. What if the folks tales of her individuals are true, and there are these on earth who exist and may shapeshift? Oli exists in one other world, not so removed from Earth. And he’s a boy who can swap between human type and the type of a cottonmouth snake. When worlds collide in tragedy, the 2 simply may start to acknowledge who they really are. A Snake Falls to Earth is a candy, totally charming story!

cover image of Hearts Unbroken by Cynthia Leitich Smith

Hearts Unbroken by Cynthia Leitich Smith

Lou is a member of the Muscogee Nation and he or she is fed up with listening to destructive stereotypes about Native folks repeated time and time once more. When her boyfriend says one thing problematic, she dumps him and turns her focus to her final yr of highschool. But the yr will carry something however clean waters: quickly Lou’s faculty’s theater division — and its forged members of coloration — are caught up in uneven waves. Racist threats are made when the varsity’s adaptation of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz consists of college students of coloration in distinguished roles. When Lou is paired up with a boy named Joey for college newspaper assignments, she finds herself wading knee-deep into fact, hazard, disturbing literary historical past, and love.

Cover of book

Give Me Some Truth by Eric Gansworth

The yr is 1980. Carson is a senior in highschool from the Tuscarora Reservation, and he has an opinion on nearly every part. But Carson can be a dreamer. He hopes to win a Battle of the Bands competitors and punch his ticket to NYC. The journey to the stage, although, is proving lengthy, winding, and sophisticated with household issues and disturbing interactions with racists. Magpie — Maggie — is new to the world and bursting with creativity. She can barely keep in mind dwelling on the Tuscarora Reservation when she was a lot youthful, and is raring for brand spanking new experiences. Together, the characters chase after their desires, even when the world isn’t fairly prepared for them but.

cover of Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse

Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse

Fast ahead fairly just a few years from now and meet Maggie, a somewhat reluctant dystopian monster hunter. Maggie is Dinétah — or what was as soon as often known as Navajo — and he or she is the final hope for locating those that have been taken by otherworldly creatures, just like the yee naalddlooshii. When she accepts the job of retrieving a kidnapped younger woman, she finds that the monster that took her is a part of one thing rather more sinister than she realized. It is with the assistance of an intriguing drugs man that Maggie digs deeper to seek out the reality that will destroy their world.

YA Thrillers/Mysteries Like Firekeeper’s Daughter

Sadie by Courtney Summers

Sadie by Courtney Summers

Following the horrific demise of her beloved youthful sister Mattie, teenage Sadie heads off alone into the unknown to seek out the killer. For all her life, Sadie has taken care of Mattie, irrespective of the sacrifice. Even after Mattie is gone, Sadie continues to handle her after the police investigation results in a dusty lifeless finish. Like Firekeeper’s Daughter, (*15*)Sadie tells the chilling story of forgotten women and a frustratingly defective justice system. Bonus: the story is informed in an attractive and distinctive podcast format!

Cover of

Grown by Tiffany D. Jackson

Enchanted desires of turning into a star. She has the voice for it, after all, and all she wants is the publicity! When celeb singer Korey Fields discovers Enchanted, the teenager believes that her life goes to vary. And she is true — however her life will change in a approach even her nightmares couldn’t predict. Before she is aware of it, Enchanted is drawn into an abusive and unlawful relationship with Korey. Isolated from family and friends, she turns into however a shadow of the shining solar she is. Then Korey is murdered and Enchanted is discovered on the scene of the crime along with her reminiscences lacking. Is she the killer? And who else has Korey ruined?

Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson cover image

Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson

Mila’s coronary heart is shattered when her greatest buddy Riley shockingly dies of their small hometown. It’s at all times been simply the 2 of them towards the world — and now Mila is alone. But then there’s an odd, tangled string of minor deaths on the town and Mila turns into suspicious. She calls upon Riley’s favourite pastime, the powers of witchcraft, to do one thing harmful: Mila brings the murdered women again to life. Unfortunately, none nonetheless possess the reminiscences surrounding their deaths. And let me inform you, the ultimate reveal of the killer is simply as juicy and disturbing because the truths Daunis uncovers in Firekeeper’s Daughter.

we were liars cover

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

The Sinclair household is wealthy, athletic, and delightful. But additionally they have deep secrets and techniques churning away, hidden in the dead of night waters surrounding their non-public summer time island. Cadence is surrounded by tense familial relationships: her personal dad and mom, her grandparents, and her siblings…But she loves summers along with her cousins Johnny and Mirren, and the love of her life Gat. After Cadence suffers an damage on the island, she is plagued with complications and reminiscence loss. And her cousins received’t reply to her emails. What will she discover when she returns to the island?

Book cover of

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

City of Saints and Thieves is quick paced and units the reader down smack in the course of the motion. After fleeing their dwelling within the Congo, Tina’s household lands in Kenya. As if issues weren’t already dangerous sufficient, Tina’s mom is shot within the dwelling of a wealthy criminal named Roland Greyhill and Tina turns to thievery and revenge to be able to survive on the streets alone. She thinks she is aware of why and who killed her mom, however when Tina returns to the Greyhill mansion years later, issues show to not be what she initially thought. Anyone who cherished the thriller in Firekeeper’s Daughter will take pleasure in the same thrill discovered on this guide by Natalie C. Anderson!

Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay

Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay

Jay is a Filipino American teen who’s trying ahead to school within the coming months. When a member of the family is killed within the Philippines, although, Jay is shocked and may’t let the matter relaxation. But studying extra concerning the nation, his heritage, and his household may show to be a weight heavier than Jay anticipated holding. There is an air of mourning and thriller in Jay’s story that jogged my memory of Daunis’s story.

Novels Like Firekeeper’s Daughter With Teens Who Look Out For Their Communities

Cover of

Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet by Laekan Zea Kamp

When Pen closes her eyes, she will image the pastelería she is going to open at some point. For now, although, she runs the kitchen at Nacho’s Tacos, her household’s Mexican American restaurant. Matters grow to be extra difficult when Pen confesses a secret to her dad and mom and he or she’s not solely fired however kicked out of their home. No matter what she does, Pen can not keep away from Nacho’s, particularly when she realizes that the immigrants who discover shelter there are being threatened. It’s as much as Pen and people she likes to band collectively and arise towards a crooked man intent on ruining every part.

a pho love story book cover

A Pho Love Story by Loan Le

Bao doesn’t harbor any intense curiosity in extracurriculars, sports activities, or teachers. He spends most of his time hanging out along with his greatest buddy Viet or working in his household’s pho restaurant. One fixed in his life is the rivalry between his household and the household who owns the neighboring pho restaurant. When Bao meets Linh, the daughter of the rival restaurant homeowners, her personal ardour for all times and artwork ignites one thing in him. As Bao begins writing for the varsity paper, he finds a inventive outlet the place he could make a optimistic change. And because the AAPI people in his neighborhood face discrimination and cruelty, Bao finds a method to battle again with phrases.

Cover of The Hate U Give

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Starr doesn’t anticipate to lose a lot in a single single evening. When she heads to a celebration and runs into her childhood greatest buddy Khalil, it appears like outdated instances. Then Khalil dies in an act of police brutality and Starr is the only witness. Her life is upended, and he or she has to decide on: inform the reality and make an enemy of the regulation, or keep quiet and betray Khalil, her neighborhood, and herself. As she mourns Khalil’s demise, Starr rapidly realizes that the justice system isn’t at all times simply and that it is likely to be as much as her to battle for the way forward for her neighborhood.

Cover of

Wings of Ebony by J. Elle

No listing of YA books like Firekeeper’s Daughter can be full with out Wings of Ebony. Just like Daunis, Rue doesn’t shrink back from doing what is important to guard her folks; worry is weaker than her love for her youthful sister and the parents she grew up with. When Rue’s mom is murdered, the teenager is reunited along with her father and learns that she has a magical heritage and entry to immense energy. Something sinister is going on each within the metropolis of Houston, the place she grew up, and in Ghizon, the place her father resides. As increasingly more youth are discovered lifeless in relation to drug dealing in Houston, Rue is aware of it’s time to resolve all of it.


In search of extra suggestions for books like Firekeeper’s Daughter, maybe some nonfiction and grownup fiction titles? Check out these books by Native, First Nation, or Indigenous authors. How about customized studying suggestions catered particularly to you? Check out Tailored Book Recommendations for tailor-made strategies!



Source hyperlink

- Advertisement -

More from the blog

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for January 23, 2022

This content material incorporates affiliate hyperlinks. When you purchase via these hyperlinks, we might earn an affiliate fee. BookClubbishThis version of Daily Deals is...

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for January 22, 2022

This content material incorporates affiliate hyperlinks. When you purchase by means of these hyperlinks, we might earn an affiliate fee. BookClubbishThis version of Daily...

Book Riot’s YA Ebook Deals of The Day: January 22, 2022

The finest YA e book offers, sponsored by Wednesday Books. $1.99 Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor Get This Deal $2.99 All The Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace Get...

Thích Nhất Hạnh, Buddhist Monk, Activist, and Author, Dies at 95

This content material accommodates affiliate hyperlinks. When you purchase by way of these hyperlinks, we could earn an affiliate fee. Beloved Buddist monk, peace...