Monday, January 17, 2022

8 Books like THE HITCHHIKER’S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY | Book Riot

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


This content material accommodates affiliate hyperlinks. When you purchase by way of these hyperlinks, we could earn an affiliate fee.

When we discuss books that made us, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is a key foundational textual content for me. Granted, I performed the text-based online game first earlier than studying the e book, but it surely was the primary e book I learn that basically broke all the principles of literature.

It was the primary absurdist e book I really had learn. There have been sentences like “The ships hung in the sky in much the same way that bricks don’t.” It’s typically used for example of dangerous descriptions however I urge to vary. The eventualities, the characters, and so forth. have been so pitch excellent and unusual. Perfect for me. Plus a five-book trilogy? Yes, please. I even like the BBC tv present with the low-tech particular results — Zaphod Beeblebrox’s second head is clearly a model head. Plus the animations for the Guide have been really actually good. Sadly, the current film was lower than snuff.

The e book impressed my Twitter deal with that I’m nonetheless holding on to right now — Vogon Troubadour — regardless of all the things. I even co-published some horrible poetry below that pen identify not too long ago, in addition to made a pilgrimage to Douglas Adams’s gravesite accidentally, which I really feel is one of the best ways to have finished it. (We went to Highgate Cemetery as a result of it sounded fascinating and it seems he was buried there. And so was Karl Marx. Go determine).

So naturally, once I hear a e book in comparison with Hitchhiker’s, I’m eager about studying extra. So right here’s a listing of books that I really feel keep the spirit of Douglas Adams’s absurdity and creativeness.

Qualityland by Marc-Uwe Kling, Translated by Jamie Lee Searle

Translated from German, this e book envisions a world the place algorithms have taken over our lives.  Everyone has a rating based mostly on their job, and 41 different subcategories that determine all the things about your life from whether or not cabs will take you locations to whether or not your girlfriend will dump you, and even should you can take footage of celebrities. You by no means need to order something; simply consider it, and it’ll present up at your door. 

Peter Jobless likes to absorb damaged robots, and as an alternative of incinerating them like he’s alleged to, he retains them as mates. When an object arrives at Peter’s door that he doesn’t need or want, he finally ends up on a quest to attempt to return it. But how can the right system be flawed? It’s like Brave New World and Hitchhiker’s had a child.

Guards! Guards! cover

Guards! Guards! By Terry Pratchett

I may have chosen any of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld books, however this was the primary one I fell in love with. It’s the eighth e book but in addition the primary e book within the City Watch sequence. The Night Watch is led by the circumspect Captain Vimes and never precisely populated with the very best and the brightest. But when Carrot Ironfoundersson reveals up with an encyclopedic information of the legislation and an virtually suicidal want to do good, the Night Watch will get shaken up. Add a dragon and a plot to take down the federal government and the Night Watch has numerous work on its arms. The worldbuilding is superb; the commentary is prime notch. 

Light from Uncommon Stars cover

Light From Uncommon Stars by Ryka Aoki

This is certainly one of my favourite books from 2021. The story focuses on Katrina, a younger trans lady with a love of the violin who has run away from her abusive dwelling. But that’s simply the beginning. She meets Shizuka Satomi, a unprecedented violin trainer who has made a pact with the satan at hand over the souls of seven of her good college students to Hell. But then Satomi unintentionally leads to a donut store run by area aliens who’ve run away from their crumbling society. The plot is on the market with the soul-damning violin trainer and area alien donut bakers, but it surely works. It’s not as lighthearted as many of the books on this listing, however its absurd plot makes me consider Hitchhiker’s. You ought to learn it anyway.

Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians cover

Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians by Brandon Sanderson

Alcatraz by no means stayed at any foster dwelling for lengthy. Things would break. Rather a lot. But when he turned 13, he obtained a bag of sand from the daddy he by no means knew. This reward makes him a goal of an evil cult of librarians. Yes, librarians. He will get rescued by a ragtag crew and finds out there’s a complete world that he by no means knew about that his mother and father have been a part of till he was left. It’s a wild and wacky first e book in a sequence with 5 present books, and a sixth e book that may sometime come out. The tone and the world-building screams influences of Hitchhiker’s.

Chilling Effect cover

(*8*)Chilling Effect by Valerie Valdes

I used to be hooked the second I learn there was against the law syndicate known as the Fridge that freezes folks. And there are psychic cats. I imply, come on! With a contact of the animated sequence Futurama and stay motion present Firefly, Chilling Effect stars Captain Eva Innocente who runs a spaceship that makes deliveries throughout the galaxy. Things are getting tight after she stops working for her dad together with his lower than authorized enterprise dealings. When her sister will get kidnapped by the Fridge, she has to take more and more troublesome and sketchy jobs to pay the exorbitant ransom. But as she digs, she finds darkish secrets and techniques which have her questioning all the things. Book three comes out in 2022.

Cover of

To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis

Imagine a future the place historians can use time journey to check their areas of curiosity, however the system is about up in order that they will’t change vital occasions. This is the second e book within the Oxford Time Travel sequence but it surely additionally works as a standalone and is probably the most comedic (by far) of the sequence. Ned Henry is distributed again to get some Victorian monstrosity known as The Bishop’s Bird-Stump however when one other time traveler brings one thing again that she shouldn’t have, Ned is pulled right into a wacky journey within the Victorian period making an attempt to repair her mistake. It’s a beautiful tribute to the comedic novel by Jerome Okay. Jerome’s Three Men in a Boat (which can be price a learn).

Heroine Complex cover

Heroine Complex by Sarah Kuhn

I’m all concerning the murderous cupcakes. The tagline is “Being a superheroine is hard. Working for one is even harder.” Evie Tanaka is making an attempt to stability being an excellent father or mother to her teenage sister and the assistant of Aveda Jupiter, a San Francisco superhero. But when she pretends to be Aveda one night time, her personal superpowers come to the forefront.  With a bit of romance thrown in, how can Evie get all the things finished and save the world?

Clovenhoof cover

Clovenhoof by Heide Goody & Iain Grant

What should you do your job so badly that you simply get kicked out of the dominion? And what in case you are Satan and get your self thrown out of Hell? Satan now lives in a British suburb below the identify Jeremy Clovenhoof, however his notoriety goes unnoticed by his neighbors. It’s wacky and overtop with eight books on this sequence.


Want extra Douglas Adams? Here’s a listing of quotations from Hitchhiker’s Guide sequence. Or when you have ever questioned which character you’re, take a look at this quiz.



Source hyperlink

- Advertisement -

More from the blog

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for January 16, 2022

This content material accommodates affiliate hyperlinks. When you purchase by means of these hyperlinks, we could earn an affiliate fee. Booked Up All NightThis...

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for January 15, 2022

This content material incorporates affiliate hyperlinks. When you purchase via these hyperlinks, we could earn an affiliate fee. National Geographic BooksThis version of Daily...

Book Riot’s YA Ebook Deals of the Day: January 15, 2022

The finest YA e book offers of the day, sponsored by ThriftBooks. $2.99 Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys Get This Deal $2.99 Mirage by Somaiya Daud Get...

Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for January 14, 2022

This content material comprises affiliate hyperlinks. When you purchase by means of these hyperlinks, we might earn an affiliate fee. Avid Reader PressToday's version...